Wenona Gardner – White Turtle Rainbow

Walker Square Park

I am writing a book for my sister Sassafrass Winter Solstice. A Bloggess Pal suggested I write and post parts of the book here. So here is a poem.
Walker Square Park

By Buffy
It was a sunny day

at Walker Square Park

In Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

Gamma took Sassafrass and I

there many times.

Gamna got us my favorite

Mexican Watermelon popsicles

with the seeds in them. 

Sassafrass and I were

playing in the sand.

I loved to tease my little sister, but

today she wasn’t having that.

Before I knew it Sassafrass

threw a handful of sand in my mouth.

I could taste all the crunchy granuals and

it was all over my Watermelon popsicle.

Guess next time I will be more careful

what I say around her.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

