Wenona Gardner – White Turtle Rainbow

Fear of Success

By Wenona Gardner

 

I spent 20 years

on disability

sleeping my life

away living only

in my dreams.

Longing for a life.

Longing for success.

I read the news

from my college’s

Alverno Alumnae Association

about how my peers

all are getting promoted,

married, and having children.

I had nothing but a disability.

Living my life with no purpose.

Ever since I came to Omaha

I found new doors opening up.

My coworker said she has been there

that I am afraid of success and new doors

are opening up for me I just have to walk through them.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

