Wenona Gardner – White Turtle Rainbow

Promises

by Wenona Gardner

I hear them all the time.

You use your words

to soothe my heart

with promises.

You lull me with

your sugary sweet words.

You shovel them thick.

You pour them even thicker.

Yet I am a fool to fall for them.

You make sure that I am deceived.

I am foolish to fall into a slumber.

I should be wiser.

Yet I feel like I a geyser

of tears when I realize

how false your words are.

You are really a menace.

I am discharged in false grace.

I must awaken before

I am pulled under again!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

