Wenona Gardner – White Turtle Rainbow

Locked Door Gamma

By Wenona Gardner

When I was a little girl
Gamma was the one who
took me to parks.
She sang songs
under her canopy bed.
She baked pies
including my favorite pecan,
but it stopped when she
feared the stove would blow up.
She stared hours at a wall
smoking and saying nothing.
I once went to the hospital
and thought she was dying
after she had electroshock therapy
She terminated her Grandparent’s rights when my mother lost custody of me at nine year’s old.
She got so sick mentally when
she had over hundred cats
in her one bedroom flat.
She asked me to come over, but wouldn’t unlock the door when I arrived.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

