Wenona Gardner – White Turtle Rainbow

Absent Mother

By Wenona Gardner

Mom living in the park
running from psychiatrists.
Always falling in love
with alcoholics.
I was beaten by her
because the soap burned
between my legs.
She said my father
sexually abused me
when I was in diapers and
held us hostage by
gunpoint when she
tried to leave him.
When she lost custody
of me at nine years old
she terminated her parental rights.
So there was no one to call for help
when my father sexually assaulted
me in my teens.
She claimed to be my real mother
then cost me my foster home
that made me homeless.
When I need her I call
but there is no answer.
I call on Christmas … no answer.
I call on Mother’s Day … no answer.

Comments on: "Absent Mother" (1)

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet
    will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

