Native American Writer & Artist

Memoir

Memoir

By Wenona Gardner

Wabun Anung (Morning Star)

Anishnaabekwe Ojibwe

Since 2003

I started writing

my memoir

starting first with poetry.

Everytime I wrote

bits of free verse

tumbled onto the page.

I wondered the source?

I attempted to write

short stories of my life

but instead 20 plus poems

poured on the page.

I wondered if my heart

wrote prose naturally in

poetic rhythm and form.

I wrote my life in broken pieces.

Hoping that some day

these pieces could be

mended together and

form a Crazy Quilt.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

