Native American Writer & Artist

WENONA ORACLE CARD READER

I had the privilege to go to this amazing Convention in 2014 which is when I had the very first taste of this convention. Anime NebrasKon is a Japanese Animation and pop culture convention that is being held at the Ramada Plaza at 72nd and Grover in Omaha, Nebraska. I had a fabulous time during the block parties. I stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites across the street which has a fabulous breakfast of sausage, eggs and orange juice. I also spent many times eating French Silk pie at the former Perkins. The Perkins server was in tune with me and kept filling my soda up precisely when I needed her since I am a fast soda drinker. They recently closed down that Perkins where everybody went for Meetups and other things going on. It is also the same time that the National Novel Writing Month was going on known as NaNoWriMo which is the entire month of November where they goal is to write 50,000 words in one month. NaNoWriMo also had a Meetup at Perkins as well the same weekend. Last year I hosted an Artist’s Way Circle Meetup at the Burger King which was totally packed before and without Perkins is going to be slammed even more.

I made the misfortune of starting Graduate School the same weekend as last year’s convention so I spent the weekend studying. I was supposed to go to my first dance and missed the rave because they had a rule you couldn’t bring in your purse. But in the essence I did got to dance. I had the chance to hang out the fabulous DDR section of the convention where my husband Brandon and I danced to a remix of #Selfie! That is the kind of dance I will always cherish we danced as partners. I cosplayed as Charity Moon the Witch with purple hair and a purple witch’s hat. We missed the wedding that hosted last year, but we both went to the Disney and MLP block parties where I kicked but playing Dream Cast dueling games.

This is my second time going to Anime NebrasKon but I really want to get involved with the convention even more than last year. I wrote to the volunteer coordinator Emily Rose to inquire about volunteer opportunities.

Chi Miigwetch (Thank you very much in Ojibwe)

Wenona Gardner

White Turtle Rainbow

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

